# MINUTES OF THE INAUGURAL MEETING OF CITY COUNCIL <u>HELD MONDAY, DECEMBER 6<sup>TH</sup>, 2010</u>

**PRESENT:** Mayor McDonald, Councillors Chirico, Koziol, Anthony, Maroosis, Bain, Mayne, Vrebosch-Merry, Vaillancourt, Mendicino, Lawlor

# CORRESPONDENCE:

## **REPORTS FROM OFFICERS:**

<u>Res. #2010-672:</u> Moved by Councillor Chirico, seconded by Councillor Koziol That the following Standing Committee appointments be made:

#### General Government Committee:

Chair:	Councillor Peter Chirico
Vice Chair:	Councillor Judy Koziol
Members:	Councillors Mike Anthony and George Maroosis
Ex Officio Member:	Mayor Al McDonald

## Community Services Committee:

Chair:	Councillor Sean Lawlor
Vice Chair:	Councillor Dave Mendicino
Member:	Councillor Daryl Vaillancourt
Ex Officio Member:	Mayor Al McDonald

#### Engineering & Works Committee:

Chair:	Councillor Tanya Vrebosch-Merry
Vice Chair:	Councillor Chris Mayne
Member:	Councillor Mac Bain
Ex Officio Member:	Mayor Al McDonald

#### "CARRIED"

- <u>Res. #2006-673:</u> Moved by Councillor Chirico, seconded by Councillor Koziol That Striking Committee Report No. 2010-01 relating to:
  - appointments of Council Members to Agencies, Boards and Commissions

be adopted as presented.

#### "CARRIED"

# STRIKING COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 2010-01

December 6, 2010

TO THE COUNCIL OF THE CORPORATION OF THE CITY OF NORTH BAY

Your Worship and Councillors:

The Striking Committee presents Report No. 2010-01 and recommends as follows:

- 1. That Councillor Daryl Vaillancourt be appointed to the Capitol Centre Board for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.
- 2. That Councillors Peter Chirico, Dave Mendicino and George Maroosis be appointed to the Cassellholme-East Nipissing Home for the Aged Board for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.
- 3. That Mayor Al McDonald and Councillors Sean Lawlor, Tanya Vrebosch-Merry, Chris Mayne, Judy Koziol, and George Maroosis be appointed to the District of Nipissing Social Services Administration Board for a four year term, effective January 1, 2011 and to expire December 31, 2014; and that Councillors Sean Lawlor, Tanya Vrebosch-Merry and George Maroosis, be appointed to the Board for a period to run from December 1, 2010 to December 31, 2010.
- 4. That Councillors Dave Mendicino and Mike Anthony be appointed to the Downtown Improvement Area Board of Management for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.
- 5. That Councillors Peter Chirico, Sean Lawlor and Tanya Vrebosch-Merry be appointed to the Heritage North Bay Board for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.
- 6. That Councillor Mac Bain be appointed to the Municipal Accessibility Advisory Committee for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.
- 7. That Councillor Judy Koziol be appointed to the Municipal Heritage Committee (formerly the "Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee") for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.
- 8. That Mayor Al McDonald be appointed to the Nipissing University Board of Governors for a three year term to expire June 30, 2013.
- 9. That the following be appointed to the North Bay Hydro Holdings Limited for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014:
  - Mayor Al McDonald Councillor Peter Chirico Councillor Sean Lawlor Councillor Tanya Vrebosch-Merry Councillor Dave Mendicino Councillor Dave Mendicino Councillor Chris Mayne Councillor Chris Mayne Councillor Mike Anthony Councillor Mike Anthony Councillor Mac Bain Councillor George Maroosis and Councillor Daryl Vaillancourt.
- 10. That Councillor Daryl Vaillancourt be appointed to the North Bay Jack Garland Airport Corporation for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.
- 11. That Councillors Tanya Vrebosch-Merry, Dave Mendicino and Mac Bain be appointed to the North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.

- 12. That Councillors Mike Anthony, Mac Bain and Daryl Vaillancourt be appointed to the North Bay Parry Sound District Board of Health for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.
- 13. That Mayor Al McDonald and Councillor Peter Chirico be appointed to the North Bay Police Services Board for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.
- 14. That Councillor Mike Anthony be appointed to the North Bay Public Library Board for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.
- 15. That Councillors Sean Lawlor, Dave Mendicino and Judy Koziol be appointed to the North Bay Planning Advisory Committee for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.
- 16. That Councillors Tanya Vrebosch-Merry and Chris Mayne be appointed to the Waste Resources Liaison Committee for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.
- 17. That Councillors Peter Chirico and Sean Lawlor be appointed to the YMCA Board for a four year term to expire November 30, 2014.
- <u>Res. #2010-674</u>: Moved by Councillor Chirico, seconded by Councillor Koziol That the following by-law be read a first and second time:

By-Law No. 2010-234 to appoint a Deputy Mayor.

## "CARRIED"

<u>Res. #2010-675</u>: Moved by Councillor Chirico, second by Councillor Koziol That the following by-law be read a third time and passed:

By-Law No. 2010-234 to appoint a Deputy Mayor.

# "CARRIED"

<u>Res. #2010-676:</u> Moved by Councillor Lawlor, seconded by Councillor Vrebosch-Merry That this Inaugural Meeting do now adjourn at 7:22 p.m.

# "CARRIED"

MAYOR ALLAN McDONALD

CITY CLERK CATHERINE CONRAD

W:\CLERK\RMS\C04\2010\DECEMBER 6 (Inaugural).doc